Stuart Palmer

Palmer - photo 3.JPG

Born: 21 June 1905, Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

Died: 4 February 1968, Los Angeles, California, USA

Author bio

(1933 Doubleday, Puzzle of the Pepper Tree)

Palmer - photo 2.JPG

Stuart Palmer, although still under thirty, has had a wide and varied career.  He has been supercargo on an Alaskan steamer, publicity writer for the Greece-visiting Mr. Samuel Insull (he was fired from that job for contributing to the American Mercury), successor to Thorne Smith as chief copywriter for the advertising agency of Doremus & Co., editor of The Dance Magazine, of Ghost Stories, contributor to many magazines from College Humour to Gun-Molls, author of five novels (including the present one), on the Hollywood staffs of Radio Pictures and Universal Pictures, and a special reporter on such famous criminal cases as the Wanderwell murder at Long Beach, California.

He brings to the detective story a grace of style that is refreshing and unusual, a story-telling sense that never lets the reader down, and a gift of character creation rare in any novelist.


  1. Ace of Jades (1931)
  2. The Penguin Pool Murder (1931; Miss Withers)
  3. Murder on Wheels (1932; Miss Withers)
  4. Murder on the Blackboard (1932; Miss Withers)
  5. The Puzzle of the Pepper Tree (1933; Miss Withers)
  6. The Puzzle of the Silver Persian (1934; Miss Withers)
  7. The Puzzle of the Red Stallion (1936; Miss Withers; also published as The Puzzle of the Briar Pipe)
  8. Omit Flowers (1937; also published as No Flowers by Request)
  9. The Puzzle of the Blue Banderilla (1937; Miss Withers)
  10. The Puzzle of the Happy Hooligan (1941; Miss Withers)
  11. Miss Withers Regrets (1947; Miss Withers)
  12. The Riddles of Hildegarde Withers (1947; Miss Withers; short stories)
  13. Four Lost Ladies (1949; Miss Withers)
  14. The Green Ace (1950; Miss Withers; also published as At One Fell Swoop)
  15. The Monkey Murder (1950; Miss Withers; short stories)
  16. Before It’s Too Late (1950; as Jay Stewart)
  17. Nipped in the Bud (1951; Miss Withers; also published as Trap for a Redhead)
  18. Cold Poison (1954; Miss Withers; also published as Exit Laughing)
  19. Unhappy Hooligan (1956; also published as Death in Greasepaint)
  20. People vs. Withers and Malone (1963; co-written with Craig Rice; short stories)
  21. Rook Takes Knight (1968)
  22. Hildegarde Withers Makes the Scene (1969; Miss Withers; co-written with Fletcher Flora)
  23. The Adventure of the Marked Man and One Other (1973)
  24. Hildegarde Withers: Uncollected Riddles (2002; Miss Withers; short stories)