Moray Dalton

(pseudonym of Katherine M. Renoir, 1882–1963)

Dean Street Press has reprinted several novels by half-Canadian writer Moray Dalton, with introductions by crime historian Curtis Evans.

Evans considers Dalton “one of the period’s major British crime writers, literate and compulsively readable”, her “strong characterizations, evocative settings, and fleet narratives” placing her in the company, if not higher, of Anthony Gilbert and E.C.R. Lorac.

Barzun and Taylor shared Evans’ enthusiasm for Dalton (“a conscientious workman, with a flair for the unusual, and capable of clever touches”), as did contemporary newspaper critics.

“The author writes in an excellent, clear, vivid style,” the TLS reviewer (28 September 1933) said of The Belfry Murder (1933). “His descriptions are economical and effective; his dialogue is natural and stamps his characters. His persons, men and women, are touched in convincingly with an eye for essentials, and they are consistent and credible, in spite of their singular deeds and adventures…” The Edge of Doom (1934) was praised for its vivid character drawing, excellent dialogue, and charming descriptions of life in France and Sussex.


  1. The Kingsclere Mystery (1924)
  2. The Shadow on the Wall (1926)
  3. The Black Wings (1927)
  4. The Stretton Darknesse Mystery (1927)
  5. One by One They Disappeared (1929) **(+)
  6. The Body in the Road (1931) **
  7. The Night of Fear (1931) **(+)
  8. Death in the Cup (1932) **
  9. The Wife of Baal (1932)
  10. The Harvest of Tares (1933)
  11. The Belfry Murder (1933) ***
  12. The Edge of Doom (1934)
  13. The Black Death (1934)
  14. The Belgrave Manor Crime (1935) ***
  15. The Strange Case of Harriet Hall (1936) ***
  16. The Mystery of the Kneeling Woman (1936)
  17. The Case of Alan Copeland (1937) **
  18. Death in the Dark (1938)
  19. Death in the Forest (1939)
  20. The Price of Silence (1939)
  21. The Art School Murders (1943) **
  22. The Longbridge Murders (1945)
  23. The Murder of Eve (1945)
  24. Death at the Villa (1946)
  25. The Condamine Case (1947) **(+)
  26. The Case of the Dark Stranger (1948)
  27. Inquest on Miriam (1949)
  28. Death of a Spinster (1951)
  29. The House of Fear (1951)