Margery Allingham

Allingham - photo.jpg
  • Born: 20 May 1904, London
  • Died: 30 June 1966, Colchester, UK


Margery Allingham is one of the best-known and best-loved writers of detective fiction, because of her imagination, sense of atmosphere, and characterization.  Each work has, as Agatha Christie recognised, “its own separate and distinctive background”, ranging from the light-hearted early thrillers to the sophisticated satires on the haut monde of the late 1930s, to the darker books of the post-WWII period, concerned with the question of evil.

Recommended works

  • Police at the Funeral (1931)
  • Flowers for the Judge (1936)
  • Dancers in Mourning (1937)
  • The Case of the Late Pig (1937)
  • The Fashion in Shrouds (1938)
  • More Work for the Undertaker (1948)
  • Hide My Eyes (1958)


  1. The White Cottage Mystery (1928)
  2. The Crime at Black Dudley (1929; published in the US as The Black Dudley Murder) *
  3. Mystery Mile (1930) ***
  4. Look to the Lady (1931; published in the US as The Gyrth Chalice Mystery) ***
  5. Police at the Funeral (1931) *****
  6. Sweet Danger (1933; published in the US as Kingdom of Danger; also published as The Fear Sign) ***
  7. Death of a Ghost (1934) ****
  8. Flowers for the Judge (1936; also published as Legacy in Blood) ****
  9. Dancers in Mourning (1937; also published as Who Killed Chloe?) *****
  10. The Case of the Late Pig (1937) ****
  11. Mr. Campion: Criminologist (1937; only published in the US; short stories)
  12. The Fashion in Shrouds (1938) *****
  13. Mr. Campion and Others (1939; short stories; revised 1950)
  14. Black Plumes (1940) ***
  15. Traitor’s Purse (1941; also published as The Sabotage Murder Mystery) ***
  16. Coroner’s Pidgin (1945; published in the US as Pearls Before Swine) ***
  17. Wanted: Someone Innocent (1946; short stories)
  18. The Case Book of Mr. Campion (1947; only published in the US; short stories)
  19. More Work for the Undertaker (1948) ****
  20. Take Two at Bedtime (1950; published in the US as Deadly Duo, 1949)
  21. The Tiger in the Smoke (1952) **
  22. No Love Lost (1954; short stories)
  23. The Beckoning Lady (1955; published in the US as The Estate of the Beckoning Lady) **
  24. Hide My Eyes (1958; published in the US as Tether’s End; also published as Ten Were Missing) *****
  25. The China Governess (1962) ***
  26. The Mysterious Mr. Campion (1963; contains the short story “On Christmas Day in the Morning”)
  27. The Mind Readers (1965; short stories) *
  28. Mr. Campion’s Lady (1965; contains the short story “Word in Season”)
  29. Cargo of Eagles (1968; completed by P. Youngman Carter) ***(+)
  30. The Allingham Casebook (1969; short stories)
  31. The Allingham Minibus (1973; short stories; published in the US as Mr. Campion’s Lucky Day)
  32. The Return of Mr. Campion (1989; short stories)

As Maxwell March

  1. Other Man’s Danger (1933; published in the US as The Man of Dangerous Secrets)
  2. Rogue’s Holiday (1935)
  3. The Shadow in the House (1936)
  4. The Darings of the Red Rose (1995)

What the critics say…

“Among the most interesting and engaging of the novelists who specialise in the thriller…  For the connoisseur of detective fiction.” – Sunday Times

“A new Allingham is a major event in detective fiction.” – The Times

“I place Margery Allingham among the first six present-day novelists.” – Evening Standard

“Margery Allingham’s publishers rightly claim on her balf that her work is ‘for the connoisseur of detective fiction.’  They can, if they so wish, drop the word ‘detective’ from their slogan with perfect propriety.” – Observer

“With each succeeding tale she has increased my respect and delight.” – Daily Herald

“Each book that Margery Allingham writes is proof that a detective story can and should be just as much of a novel as anything else that is labelled fiction – as much and as good as a novel.” – The Sunday Times