Ianthe Jerrold

Ianthe Jerrold.jpg

Ianthe Jerrold was born in 1898, the daughter of the well-known author and journalist Walter Jerrold, and granddaughter of the Victorian playwright Douglas Jerrold. She was the eldest of five sisters. She published her first book, a work of verse, at the age of fifteen. This was the start of a long and prolific writing career characterized by numerous stylistic shifts. In 1929 she published the first of two classic and influential whodunits. The Studio Crime gained her immediate acceptance into the recently-formed but highly prestigious Detection Club, and was followed a year later by Dead Man’s Quarry. Ianthe Jerrold subsequently moved on from pure whodunits to write novels ranging from romantic fiction to psychological thrillers. She continued writing and publishing her fiction into the 1970’s. She died in 1977, twelve years after her husband George Menges. Their Elizabethan farmhouse Cwmmau was left to the National Trust.
 – Dean Street Press

All four of Ianthe Jerrold’s detective stories have been reprinted by Dean Street Press, with introductions by mystery scholar Curtis Evans.  Curt has also written about Jerrold on his blog, The Passing Tramp.  See here and here.


  1. The Studio Crime (1929)
  2. Dead Man’s Quarry (1930)
  3. Let Him Lie (1940; published under the pseudonym of Geraldine Bridgman)
  4. There May Be Danger (1948; published under the pseudonym of Geraldine Bridgman)