A.E.W. Mason

Alfred Edward Woodley Mason

NPG x27031; Alfred Edward Woodley Mason by Bassano

Born: 7 May 1865, London

Died: 22 November 1948, London

“One of England’s Greatest Story-tellers… He has been a major in a crack regiment; a member of the House of Commons; Chief of Naval Intelligence in the Western Mediterranean during the War; a famous traveller and mountain climber; a member of the Royal Yacht Squadron.” – The Sapphire author bio panel (1933 Doubleday Doran)


  1. At the Villa Rose (1910; Hanaud) ****
  2. The Four Corners of the World (1917; 12 short stories and 1 play)
  3. The House of the Arrow (1924; Hanaud) *****
  4. No Other Tiger (1927) ***
  5. The Prisoner in the Opal (1928; Hanaud) *****
  6. The Sapphire (1933)
  7. Dilemmas (1934; short stories)
  8. They Wouldn’t Be Chessmen (1935; Hanaud) **
  9. The House in Lordship Lane (1946; Hanaud) ***

Series detective: Gabriel Hanaud

“Amid the sunshine, the business of the vintage and Mr. Ricardo’s personal interest in his food and his wine, the author presents murder, mutilation, passion, hatred, cruelty, dark iniquity, a rescue in the nick of time, a strange arrest followed by a suicide which is also an execution and a variety of episodes which are full of mystery as they occur but fit in to an intelligible and convincing whole which makes as thrilling and uncomfortable a story as one could well wish to read.”

Times Literary Supplement, 10th January 1929

“What an artist in story-telling is Mr. Mason, who can make the least satisfying of his Hanaud plots into the most readable of his Hanaud stories.”

– Torquemada, Observer, 21st July 1935